Bad Day?

    When people tell you that they had a bad day you always try to one up the other person.  No matter how crappy your day was they always can top it. Why are people so shallow? At a young age I learned that when people try to help you, it usually does more harm than good.  Everyone truly believes that by talking about your problems you’ll somehow feel better or find a solution that makes the pressure of all the crap you’ve been dealing with a little more manageable. I like being independent and self reliant. The less people know about my personal life the better I feel. Talking about my feelings or even what I’m thinking doesn’t work for me. I don’t feel comfortable. A few years ago my wife and I decided to see a marriage counselor and it didn’t help at all. It just made me angrier because I had to talk about all the stuff that was bugging me and I wasn’t getting any solutions. This jerk was supposed to make things better yet he was only making them worse. He wanted me to talk about all of the stuff that was bothering me and it got to a point where I didn’t even want to go. It wasn’t helping my marriage and I never wanted to be there in the first place.

     Another thing that bugs me is that as Christians we’re supposed to love everyone. I’m not a people person. I tolerate people and there are some people I just don’t like. It’s hard to change that side of myself because it’s just who I am.  I cannot just wake up one day and want to be a hugger because I don’t like people touching me. It just grosses me out and makes me uncomfortable. When I see people who are huggers my flesh crawls because I’m not a hugger. If I don’t know you please don’t touch me. Another thing that annoys me is when people talk they want to reach out and touch me at the same time. Why do people do that? If you wanted to get my attention you got it but instead of wanting to talk to you I want to get away from you. I’m big on personal space and don’t like it when people invade it.

     Back to the original point which is the bad day. It happens but just accept it and move on. There’s no reason to get all weepy and slobbery because more often than not you’re going to have another one. I have learned that as a Christian it’s a lot easier to deal with them now  than it was before. I do get a little angry but I don’t hold onto it. Sure yesterday was horrid but when I saw my kids get off the school bus I felt okay because I knew that I needed to put on my dad hat and be a father. I couldn’t be angry anymore because it wasn’t their fault that my day was horrid so I just basked in their love and knew that tomorrow would be totally different. By trusting in God I let all of that go and felt free. I wasn’t dwelling on it and it felt pretty dang good.

Leave a Reply

