Disconnected Day 1

     In all honesty this isn’t my first real day of disconnect. That will actually be in tomorrow’s blog but today was a bit crazy because I knew exactly what I wanted to do so I went through a lot of by internet book marks and E-books to see what I had. I was excited to tell my wife what I planned to do and she was excited for me. I had saved all of these websites and kept saying that I’d get to them but I never did. I would scan through them and go onto something else. The reality of what I’m doing hasn’t truly sunk in yet. Today is the first official day of going off the social network grid and the Devil is already telling me I can’t. How in the world can you reconnect with God with a wife and three kids distracting you? Simple. Take what I have learned or read and process it,. Think about where I can apply a scripture into my life and how I can change my life for the better. How am I going to use this experience to not only serve God but be beacon of hope and faith toward other people?

     I’m not documenting this to brag about how Holy I’m becoming or how righteous I think I am because I’m the same old sinner I have always been and this is a quest to learn exactly where and what God wants me to be. I want to show people that you don’t have to go into the wilderness to grow close to God. Just by pledging to take a week and allowing God to take full control something will happen. Satan will tell you that isn’t possible but it is. The one verse that kept popping up in my head was Matthew 7:7-8.  Ask, and it shall be given you: seek, and you shall find: knock, and it shall be opened to you. For every one that asketh, receiveth: and he that seeketh, findeth: and to him that knocketh, it shall be opened.

     I don’t want to write a long blog but I also came to understand some basic facts and in closing I want to share them.

(1)  Without God I’m nothing. God’s love and mercy saved me from a life of mediocrity.

(2) Because of God I’m no longer running in circles. I not only have a destination but a purpose.  (3) The Devil will try and hold you back from achieving what God wants you to achieve. God has given us all the ability to walk on water but the Devil will force us to doubt and the moment we look down we begin to drown.

   Lastly I saw another verse that showed me that I was on the right course and doing exactly what God wanted me to do; But I will look towards the Lord, I will wait for God, my saviour: my God will hear me. Micah 7:7

Leave a Reply

