Mission Statement

     So many people tell me that I should become a pastor. I guess it’s because I have a fair understanding of the Bible and try and be as encouraging as I can to other people. The problem with being a pastor is all the stuff that comes with it. I don’t like playing politics and when you become a pastor you can’t just preach. There’s also the business side of church as well as all the planning and when you preach about something you have to deal with angry parishioners. I guess I could just preach and allow someone else to handle the business side of things but then you run into all sorts of problems. You also have to contend with egos which is something I prefer not to deal with either. If people need to be the center of attention in Church there’s something wrong there. I prefer to not become a pastor and that’s okay with me unless God decides otherwise. Would you really want Pastor Peanut? I can be pretty harsh at times and I truly believe that sometimes you have to be open and honest with people and let’s face it when you put a mirror in front of people they don’t like what they see and it’s all your fault. As a pastor there are some topics you just can’t preach about even though they are in the Bible. There’s Hell for one and that scares people. People want their Christianity inspiring but not scary. When you have visitors in your church you don’t want to frighten people away.

     What really frightens me is that I wonder if these people that say I should be a Pastor would come to a church that I preached at? In my blogs I guess I’ve revealed a bit of my beliefs but then again I don’t think I have. What if I told you that I believed that God was actually a Unicorn and our beloved Jesus was in fact an elf that lives in a candy cane cottage? People are starting to back away a bit which is good. I have had a lot of experiences that make me relatable to people. I don’t ever pretend to be perfect and will readily tell anyone that I’m a mess. I don’t always know what to say to people so maybe that’s another good quality I would have. Do I really want to lead people? That’s a good question and one that I would really have to think about. People need to be led. They are often times led by the wrong people and follow the wrong theology. That’s dangerous. Here’s the thing that people should really consider when attending a church or watching a television preacher. Are they Biblically sound? Can you back up what they say with Scripture. Does the entire Bible line up with what they are preaching about? Before people place me on a pulpit here is my mission statement. I need to keep my mind busy today and this will kill some time while I try and divert my mind away from some very serious personal issues.

                                      Dr. Peanut’s Mission Statement

(1) The Bible : I like so many Christians believe that this quite honestly is the only book inspired by God.  2 Timothy 3:16-17, 2 Peter 1:20-21, Matthew 5:18, John 16: 12-13

(2)   I also believe in the one triune God as existing in three persons—Father, Son, and Holy Spirit. Deuteronomy 6:4,  2 Corinthians 13:14

(3) I believe in Jesus Christ and that He rose from the dead and that He will in fact come again to judge the living and the dead. Through him our redemption was possible when he died on the cross. Romans 3:24, 1 Peter 2:24, Ephesians 1:7, 1 Peter: 3-5, 1 Peter 4:5,  Romans 14:9, 2 Timothy 4:1

(4) Salvation. This is a gift given freely by God but you have to accept this gift. You just can’t expect to be saved without a choice. The gift of salvation is given through the grace of God and received by personal faith in the Lord Jesus Christ. Ephesians 2: 8-10, John 1: 12, Ephesians 1:7, 1 Peter 1: 18-19

    Those four are the core of my beliefs. I also believe and whole heartedly endorse the charismatic religion which believes in the spiritual gifts found in 1 Corinthians 12-14. With that all being said would you attend the church of Peanut? As you can see I’m not so different after all except for the heavy metal and the strong belief that you should always think for yourself and never be afraid to question what your pastors preaching about if it doesn’t sound doctrinally sound. Prayer, that’s another big thing with me. Prayer is a vital part of our Christian walk. I can’t even give you a list of scripture on prayer because we would be here all day. Pray without ceasing, pray to God in thanks and in good times and bad. Prayer is a vital part of Christianity. As I deal with my personal issues I promise that I will return with more nuggets of wisdom and ask that you all keep me in your prayers.

2 thoughts on “Mission Statement

  1. Thanks. I haver never really discussed my beliefs because I was always taught that there are two two things you don’t talk about; politics and religion but what do they know 😉

Leave a Reply

