My Summer Reading List

     I figure since I live in Ohio and I’m single I should start compiling my summer reading list. A lot of people have these and it drove me bonkers because I would have this grandiose idea that I would start a list and somehow at the end of the summer I would say; “Tada….I finished the list.” It was unrealistic due to my being a full time husband and father. If you add in work well reading isn’t all that high on the list of priorities. Now I’m a part time father and my career may or may not be as demanding as I think it will. It looks interesting and challenging so I honestly think I can actually compile a list for the first time in a very long time. Also with my son in the hospital and a lot of time to kill I am going to actually begin reading the New Testament of The Bible and deepen my knowledge of not only God but what God expects of me. I have tons of books and I’ve recently acquired a ton of Christian books so I think I’ll begin with C Peter Wagoner’s Churchquake and then hit on a book he wrote called Your Spiritual Gifts can Help Your Church Grow, and then work through Confronting The Powers which is about Prayer and Spiritual Warfare. I also have a couple more of Wagner’s books these are Blazing The Way which is the third part of a Series of books he wrote about Acts. Can’t forget about Wagner’s Apostles Today which looks interesting. From there I have Possessing the Gates Of The Enemy by Cindy Jacobs which is a training manual for militant intercession. I also plan on delving into a book I found called Spiritual Warfare by Dean Sherman.

     That should keep me reading until at least the second half of April. I read quickly and if a book bores me I put it back on my shelf and ignore and eventually come back to it. In terms of I guess you could say controversial Christian titles I plan on reading The Shack. People keep saying to avoid this book but I’m the kind of guy that likes to explore things just to see what all the fuss is about. If that wasn’t bad why not really worry people by reading Beyond Hell and then at some point I have to read Love Wins by Rob Bell. I’m sure just announcing that I plan on reading this will have me thrown out of my church and severely beaten but I truly want to read this book because let’s be honest we all love a good car wreck and the reviews and general backlash this book has received has me pretty curious. At some point I may even read some motivational stuff from the guy who’s not really a pastor but pretends to be one on TV. Yeah, Mr. Happy himself Joel Osteen. I think as a Christian we have to explore what’s out there just to form our own opinions and find out exactly why this isn’t matching up Biblically. If you have a general idea of what the Bible says it shouldn’t be too hard to figure that what these guys are preaching and even writing about takes the Bible out of context. So the book I want to really read is Osteen’s Total Victory. The title alone makes me chuckle. I  don’t about you but I would love total victory.  Wait, maybe that’s a sermon I have to watch. Crap. Well, it’s better than buying a book. I also have a Paula white book somewhere I should try and read.

      On to the last half which I find most exciting. Once I make it passed the fluff and nonsense I have the books that I am really stoked to read. Ted Dekker is an author that I recently discovered. I read his book Skin, loved it and  realized that Christian Fiction doesn’t have to be boring. I was so excited to actually discover that as a Christian I can still like books that are interesting but don’t feel religious. Thanks also to Frank Peretti for making me branch out and embrace Christian thrillers. You see not all Christian books have to be about being a servant, following Christ correctly or even a self help book. As a Christian we also need to be entertained and why not endorse writers that share our faith? Is that a bad thing? Depends on who you ask but this is my blog and as my mother stills says to me; “I’m not asking you, I’m telling you.”  Also on my really stoked to read list is a few books by Pastor Mark Driscoll. I’ve seen a few of his sermons and the guy is awesome so I plan on reading Death By Love: Letters From The Cross, Doctrine, and Religion Saves: And Nine Other Misconceptions.  I also intend to read Scandalous: The Cross and Resurrection of Jesus by D.A. Carson, and another Driscoll book entitled Vintage Jesus: Timeless Answers to Timely Questions. Yeah, I realize these are all Christian books but I am a Christian so it makes sense. If you find something you’re passionate about, pursue it and run with it. If it makes people happy I do have a ton of Patricia Cornwell books to read as well as other non-Christian titles which I guess isn’t a bad thing as long as people understand that I never said I was perfect and as an avid reader I still have authors I read before I became a Christian and I still enjoy them.

     I say that I intend to start this list but who know what’s going to happen before spring actually gets here. I realize that as I write this it’s almost April but we don’t usually see actual Spring in Ohio until around April something. I could meet a nice Christian woman fall madly in love but I honestly don’t see happening but who knows. I have been noticing women a lot more lately and I don’t know how I’m supposed to feel about that. On the one hand it shows that I’m truly over my wife but it also shows that despite my hesitancy to date I won’t exactly say no if a perty girl wants to go out for ice cream  I think for now I am truly not going to blog until April 15th or so. Gives me a break and I have a ton of reading to do anyway. God bless.

Leave a Reply

