Dead Clown Barbecue: A Review

     I have to be honest and say that before picking up Dead Clown Barbecue I had heard about Jeff Strand but never read his work. I have a huge backlog of stuff to read so I figured at some point I’d get around to reading some thing he had written. Just didn’t know when.

     I saw the cover for Dead Clown Barbercue and was instantly intrigued. Hell, even the title made me giggle so I knew at some point I’d be checking this book out. I was loading up my Kindle app and there it was in my recommended list. To give you an idea of what kind of shit Amazon usually recommends there’s usually a lot of Bryan Smith  some Edward Lee and a few other splatterpunk writers.

     As soon as I saw it I clicked the buy button and settled down for some Barbecue.

image

     This is a short story collection that can’t really be pinned down to just one genre. If you’re a fan of bizarro and horror you’ll feel right at home here but of you tend to shy away from the bizarro then you may not enjoy this book at all which is really unfortunate because Dead Clown Barbercue is an insane mix of both genres.

     Jeff Strand balances both very well and even throws in a bit of black humor just to keep you on your toes. What makes Dead Clown so enjoyable aside from the stories themselves is the fact that you never know what to expect. You have the down right Creepiness of Gramma’s Corpse and you see just how talented Strand is.

     When it comes to writers it seems as if the short story is their weakness and trying to read a book with twenty three of them can be a bit tedious and grueling but Barbecue is one of those anthologies you can actually make it through and if you’re like me and have never heard of Jeff Strand this is a good place to start. Highly recommended for fans of horror and bizarro.

http://jeffstrand.wordpress.com/

http://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B00E7VEC3Y/ref=mp_s_a_1_2?qid=1379377430&sr=8-2π=AC_SX110_SY165

Leave a Reply

